RSS

Watch This

10 Mar

watchI have a friend’s wedding to go to in a few weeks and while trying to put together my outfit and jewelry, I thought of something.

My Jewelry pet peeve #652 – When women wear watches out at night, especially with something formal. I know you’re probably thinking this is petty, but this is the kind of stuff I’m tuned into. Jewelry is usually the first thing I’ll notice when it comes to what someone is wearing, I zoom in like radar! I just don’t get it, you changed your shoes, you changed your dress, change the jewelry too!

In general I don’t think watches go with formal dresses (I hate that word, but nothing else really works either, like evening dress?), anyway leave it at home. There’s no reason to wear your office Seiko, with your Valentino. If you do insist on wearing a watch out at night make it something sparkly! Or if a ton of sparkle isn’t quite your thing, a cool antique or vintage style watch with a delicate face and a black cord or satin bracelet works too!

evening watch  citizen watch

The only thing with antique watches is that they often do not keep time reliably, sometimes even after having them overhauled. So, if it’s a super gorgeous piece you can just wear it as a bracelet if it doesn’t work. I had a friend that collected watches and while I think all of hers worked, she didn’t always have them set correctly or even have batteries in them, so hers were always for show. When I worked at Fred Leighton we sold beautiful estate watches, diamond art deco pieces and 1940’s “tutti frutti” watches set with carved rubies, sapphires and emeralds. Those aren’t the type of timepieces that most of us can afford (me included) but there are plenty of other options out there.

Check my ass out at – www.fromtheashesvintagejewels.com –  it’s cute, you’ll like it. Promise

And don’t forget to follow me on Twitter and Facebook too!

www.twitter.com/fromtheashes13

www.facebook.com/fromtheashesvintagejewels

From the Ashes Vintage Jewels now at Eight of Swords (www.eightofswords.com) in Williamsburg, Brooklyn

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
