RSS

Don’t Cross Me

28 Feb

crosses

Some crosses I’ve collected over the years

I’ve been collecting crosses for years, I and I have more than I really want to admit! I have everything from a teeny tiny yellow gold Etruscan style cross, to a 3 1/2 inch bejeweled Pope – worthy blue topaz and rhodolite garnet sparkler. Speaking of the Pope, today seemed like an appropriate day to write about crosses, with this being his last day in office. Wait, office? Something tells me that’s not right.

As you may be able to tell, I’m not exactly religious, and have always been drawn to crosses for purely aesthetic purposes. Whenever I travel I love to visit churches and drool over their architecture, collections of religious art and statuary.

Growing up in a Jewish/Catholic house I thought everyone colored Easter eggs, ate matzo, and watched Charlton Heston part the red sea while frying up some potatoe pancakes for Easter/Passover dinner, well, apparently not.

When it comes to wearing crosses you have to be careful how you style your look, because if it’s too small it can tend to look serious and sweater-sety and if they’re too big, it can tend to look kind of 80’s and Madonna-ish. So, like with most things I like to layer and mix a bunch of pieces together to keep the look fun.

STOP BY EIGHT OF SWORDS BOUTIQUE IN WILLIAMSBURG, BROOKLYN TO SEE MY COLLECTION –                   www.8ofswords.com

NEW PIECES ADDED TO MY WEBSITE – WWW.fromtheashesvintagejewels.com

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER – www.twitter.com/fromtheashes13

“LIKE” ME ON FACEBOOK – www.facebook.com/fromtheashesvintagejewels

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 28, 2013 in Jewelry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
