RSS

The Jewelry 80/20 Rule

01 Feb

abacusIf you’re anything like me you’re probably thinking, ewwww, percentages? math?  In jewelry?

Well, sort of. You may have heard this before – Women usually wear 20% of their jewelry 80% of the time and 80% of their jewelry 20% of the time.

I was reminded of this last night when I was getting ready to go out & was looking for a pair of earrings. I pulled a few things out, tried them on and was determined not to revert to the old standby, my diamond studs. Hoops, chandeliers, dangles, what kind of mood was I in? Studs… again. It’s just nice when you don’t have to think and you have pieces that go with everything and just make your life easy. I love easy and I loooove not having to think, which would probably explain why I watch so much reality tv!

Back to the 80/20 rule, there’s a lot of truth to that. There are so many things I just “had to have” and…I hardly ever wear them, maybe 20% of the time?  I’m sure you must have these pieces too. Maybe yours is a necklace that’s way to dressy & impractical to actually wear, a giant pair of shoulder duster earrings you splurged on that drag your ears down to your shoulders, a cocktail ring that stands an inch off your hand and threatens to take out a few eyes every time you wear it, or some other ridiculous piece. Sometimes it’s just enough to know you have something, just incase you want to wear it. (Wow, I don’t sound like I have a jewelry hoarding  buying problem!) In the meantime, you can just wear the other 20%.

So, what’s your 20%? Take the poll (below)! And don’t forget to check out my website –

www.fromtheashesvintagejewels.com & my Facebook page – www.facebook.com/fromtheashesvintagejewels & “LIKE” it when you’re there! I’ll be adding new pieces to the website soon!! Please feel free to contact me with any questions at info@fromtheashesvintagejewels.com

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
