RSS

Simply Charming

31 Jan

I was on my way to meet a friend at the Nom Wah Tea Parlor (www.nomwah.com) in Chinatown today, when something caught my eye.

charm necklace

In the window of Lost Wax Studio (www.lostwaxstudio.com) on Elizabeth street, I spotted a 1980’s plastic charm necklace. We all had one, plastic link chain with chunky, colorful charms. I picked it up, threw it on and couldn’t stop laughing…until I looked at the tag that is. The description read as follows “Vintage 1980’s charm necklace”.

VINTAGE, really? But, how can that be, I owned one!!! It was like the first time I heard an Alice in Chains song on the “classic” alternative station! Does this mean I’m vintage too? This is a topic for another blog, or not.

Anyway, back to the necklace. Hot pink, turquoise, yellow, animals, shoes, telephones, lipstick, you name it I probably had it, all with bells, lots of googly eyes and big plastic clips. My collection outgrew the original necklace and I had to expand to another one. Then, when I’d link the two together it just about came down to my waist. That was status in the sixth grade!

I’d spend so much time rearranging them, color coordinating them, making sure they we’re perfectly spaced, I was always obsessed with my jewelry!

Hopefully you’re obsessed too – check out my website, it’s up and running, if you haven’t heard – www.fromtheashesvintagejewels.com and “LIKE” my Facebook page – www.facebook.com/fromtheashesvintagejewels and happy shopping!!!!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
