RSS

Bad Gift On Board

26 Jan

3d 2 push_button_for babyl

“Push” presents, God how I hate that term. It just conjures up a horrendous series of images in my head. How about the old standby – baby gift, that still works.

Anyway, I have a friend who’s expecting her third child. Her husband recently called asking my opinion on the push baby gift he planned to give her. A locket. Really, for the third time? Who needs three floral engraved lockets, and why does every guy think once a woman gets knocked up she suddenly losses all sense of who she is and morphs into some kind of mindless mommy drone who thinks yellow gold heart shaped lockets are the absolute height of fashion?

If he still insists on giving her yet another locket, I suggested something a hell of a lot more interesting, like the piece below. Now that is pretty freaking fantastic. An antique, 19c. Victorian gold locket with fringe and seed pearls. You can still stick a pic of the kid inside, but it’s got a bit of rock n’ roll edge and none of the other mommies will have the same one!

FringeNecklace When I worked at a high end estate jeweler on Madison ave, I was constantly and usually pretty successfully pushing the Dads- to- be in a more diamondy direction than a gold locket. Because I know, if another human being came out of me, all Alien style, I’d need a diamond about the size of an old school crystal doorknob.

If you enjoy my blog follow it & “like” my Facebook page – From The Ashes Vintage Jewels – oh, and if you need any jewelry gift shopping advice drop me a line, I’d be more than happy to offer my opinion – info@fromtheashesvintagejewels.com

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
