RSS

Suntans and Sapphires

23 Jan

beach

On this super cold January day, as I’m buried under multiple layers of down, thermal and whatever else I could throw on to walk my dogs, my mind is drifting off to warmer climes. Preferably one where I’m wearing only one layer, a bikini. But, the real question is, how to accessorize that bikini?A floppy hat, giant sunglasses, a stack of chunky bangles? Honestly, unless you’re a reality show star or an Italian heiress, don’t do it! But, that’s just one girl’s opinion.

bikini copy

The beach is probably the only place I don’t wear jewelry, other than the gym. I’m definitely more of a sit, read a book and watch the waves girl, rather than the beach volleyball type. But, it’s still a look I never rock, for a few reasons. What if I actually decide to venture in to the brownish green new york water, I’m hit by a wave and my jewelry washes away! I’d never be able to find it in that sludge!   Also, depending on the stones and what the piece is made of,  sunscreen and oil can leave a hard to remove residue, saltwater can be corrosive and sand can be very abrasive. In general I never recommend to even shower with jewelry on, but I’m a freak and baby all of my pieces.

So, save the jewelry for those outdoor beach bar cocktails at the end of the day!

IF YOU ENJOY MY BLOG, PLEASE “LIKE” ME ON FACEBOOK & CHECK OUT MY WEBSITE (which will be launched soon) WWW.FROMTHEASHESVINTAGEJEWELS.COM

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 23, 2013 in Jewelry

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
